Log in


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® had its humble beginnings as the vision of nine college students on the campus of Howard University.  In 1908, Alpha Kappa Alpha became the first Greek-letter organization established by African-American college-educated women.  Five years later (1913), Alpha Kappa Alpha’s ensured its perpetuity through incorporation in the District of Columbia.

Alpha Kappa Alpha’s mission is to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards, to promote unity and friendship among college women, to study and help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to improve their social stature, to maintain a progressive interest in college life, and to be of “Service to All Mankind”.

From the core group of nine at Howard, AKA has grown into a force of more than 290,000 collegiate members and alumnae, constituting 1,018 chapters.   The Alpha Kappa Alpha program today still reflects the communal consciousness steeped in the AKA tradition and embodied in AKA’s creed, “To be supreme in service to all mankind.”

 You can read more about our National History at our Corporate website.

The Original Nine

Anna Easter Brown

Beulah Burke

Lillie Burke

Marjorie Hill

Margaret Flagg Holmes

Ethel Hedgemon (Lyle)

Lavinia Norman

Lucy Diggs Slowe

Marie Woolfolk (Taylor)

The Seven Sophomores

Norma Boyd

Ethel Jones (Mowbray)

Alice Murray

Sarah Meriweather

Joanna Berry (Shields)

Carrie Snowden

Harriet Terry

The Incorporators

Nellie May Quander

Norma Boyd

Minnie Beatrice Smith

Julia Evangeline Brooks

Ethel Jones

Nellie Pratt


Danette Anthony Reed

Danette Anthony Reed is the International President & CEO of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®. She is the 31st woman to lead the nation’s first African American sorority for college-educated women. As International President & CEO, Ms. Anthony Reed sets policy and programs and leads a board of directors representing other international officers and 10 regional directors who oversee management of the sorority’s more than 1,060 chapters and 325,000 initiated members throughout the United States and 11 countries.


Kiahna Davis

Kiahna W. Davis is the 31st Central Regional Director of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®Davis will oversee 8,000 graduate and undergraduate sorority members in Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Eastern Missouri (St. Louis and Cape Girardeau), North Dakota and South Dakota.  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software